CLARK NASH HOUSE honored by Westport Historic Preservation Award

 56 Sylvan Road North known as the Clark Nash House was honored with a Westport Historic Preservation Award on October 23, 2014 by the Westport Historic District Commission.  Miro Builders designed and constructed the award-winning addition to the home, which is owned by A. Morris and Jennifer Tooker.  This is the fifth time a Miro Builders project has been recognized with a Historic Preservation Award.  The goal of the project was to remove old poorly designed additions to the home and replace them with a space that met the needs of a modern day family while restoring the integrity of the original architecture.                   

The Clark Nash house is rich in Westport history. Built circa 1805 on land owned by one of the oldest Saugatuck families, the Nash home remained in the family until the early 20th century.  In 1907 the home was purchased by Harry Daniel Webster, sculptor of the Minute Man statue on Compo Road South. 

Miro Builders is also deeply rooted in Westport, having designed and built luxury homes and additions in the greater Westport area for three generations.  Miro built homes have been award finalists in Architectural Digest as well as receiving numerous awards from the Home Builders Association of Connecticut. Among many publications, projects have also been featured in Westport Magazine and Cottages & Gardens magazine.  A lifelong resident, Don Miro has a strong passion for preserving the character and history of Westport while both improving and building fine homes to meet the needs of modern day families.  Don has also volunteered his time and experience to the Westport community by serving as chairman on the Historic District Commission, coaching PAL football and Rec basketball, and as general contractor on the ABC House and Learning Center.  To learn more about the company, please visit or call Don Miro at 203-227-4588.